Crustacean Delta Workshops

DELTA is a taxonomic identification and information retrieval system which stores morphological data and illustrations and then, among other things, makes them available in the form of illustrated natural language descriptions and interactive keys, and as output for phylogenetic analyses.

Crustacea.net is a website which publishes electronic monographs (interactive identification and information retrieval systems) on crustaceans at any taxonomic level. These monographs are prepared using the DELTA system and include illustrated, interactive keys to each group, plus diagnoses, descriptions and illustrations of each taxon in the group.

A series of workshops is being held to help make DELTA available to a wider group of crustacean taxonomists and to interest these taxonomists in preparing electronic monographs for crustacea.net.

The first workshop was held at the Darling Marine Center, University of Maine, Walpole, Maine, USA in late July, 1999. The second workshop was held at the Australian Museum, Sydney, Australia in late October, 1999. The third workshop will take place from 2 to 13 May, 2000, at the Kristineberg Marine Research Station, Fiskebäckskil, Sweden.

Enquiries about Crustacean DELTA Workshops to Jim Lowry or Matz Berggren. Enquiries about DELTA at http://biodiversity.uno.edu/delta/

1st Crustacean DELTA Workshop
17-30 July, 1999
Darling Marine Center
Walpole, Maine

The first DELTA workshop for crustacean taxonomists was hosted by the Darling Marine Center, University of Maine, as part of Summer Program '99. Les Watling, Linda Healy and Tim Miller organised the workshop, which lasted for two weeks. Taxonomists attended from Australia, Chile, England, Mexico and the United States.

Instructors


Jim Lowry
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
jimlowry@crustacea.net


Terry Macfarlane
Western Australian Herbarium
C/0 Dept. of Conservation & Land Management
Brain Street
Manjimup, WA 6258
Australia
terrym@calm.wa.gov.au


Participants


Dave Camp
11990 68th Avenue
Seminole, FL 33772
USA
CampDaveK@aol.com

Sarah Gerkin
Darling Marine Center
University of Maine
193 Clark's Cove Road
Walpole, ME 04573
USA
sgerke51@maine.edu

Exequiel Gonzalez
Darling Marine Center
University of Maine
193 Clark's Cove Road
Walpole, ME 04573
USA
egonza71@maine.edu

Pilar Haye
University of Maine
5751 Murray Hall
Orono, ME 04469-5751
USA
pilar.haye@umit.maine.edu

Cees Hof
Department of Earth Science
University of Bristol
Wills Memorial Building
Queens Road
Bristol BS8 1RJ
UK
cees.h.j.hof@bristol.ac.uk

 


Sarah LeCroy
USM Institute of Marine Sciences
Gulf Coast Research Laboratory
703 East Beach Blvd
PO Box 7000
Ocean Springs, Mississippi 39564
USA
Sara.Lecroy@usm.edu

Rubén Ríos
College of William and Mary
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Gloucester Point, VA 23062
USA
rubnrios@vims.edu

Jim Thomas
National Coral Reef Institute
8000 N. Ocean Drive
Dania, FL 33004
USA
thomasj@ocean.nova.edu

Les Watling
Darling Marine Center
University of Maine
193 Clark's Cove Road
Walpole, ME 04573
USA
watling@maine.edu

 

2nd Crustacean DELTA Workshop
21-30 October, 1999
Australian Museum
Sydney, Australia

The second DELTA workshop for crustacean taxonomists was held at the Australian Museum, Sydney, during the last week of October, 1999. It was organised by Jim Lowry and Rachael Peart. Taxonomists attended from all over Australia.

Instructors


Jim Lowry
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
jimlowry@crustacea.net


Steve Keable
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
Stephenk@amsg.austmus.au

Rachael Peart
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
rachaelpeart@crustacea.net


Participants


Shane Ahyong
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
s.ahyong@unsw.edu.au

Penny Berents
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
Pennyb@amsg.austmus.gov.au

Niel Bruce
15 Yeoman Street
Chapel Hill
Brisbane, Qld 4069
Australia
nbruce@globec.com.au
brucen@dpi.qld.gov.au

Peter Davie
Queensland Museum
PO Box 3300
South Brisbane, Qld 4101
Australia
p.davie@uq.net.au

Diana Jones
Aquatic Zoology
Western Australian Museum
Francis Street
Perth, WA 6000
Australia
jonesd@museum.wa.gov.au


Gary Poore
Museum Victoria
GPO Box 666E
Melbourne, VIC 3001
Australia
gpoore@mov.vic.gov.au

Roger Springthorpe
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
rogers@amsg.austmus.gov.au

Helen Stoddart
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
helenst@amsg.austmus.gov.au

Genefor Walker-Smith
Museum Victoria
GPO Box 666E
Melbourne, VIC 3001
Australia
gwsmith@mov.vic.gov.au

George (Buz) Wilson
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australian
buzw@amsg.austmus.gov.au

 

3rd Crustacean Delta Workshop
2 to 13 May 2000
Kristineberg Marine Research Station
Fiskebackskil, Sweden

The 3rd Delta workshop for crustacean taxonomists was hosted by the Kristineberg Marine Research Station, Fiskebackeskil, Sweden. Particular thanks go to Matz Berggren and to Jalle Strömberg for organising the workshop and for making everyone feel so welcome. Taxonomists attended from Australia, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Mauritius, Slovenia, Sweden and the United States.

Instructors


Jim Lowry
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
jimlowry@crustacea.net


Terry Macfarlane
Western Australian Herbarium
C/0 Dept. of Conservation & Land Management
Brain Street
Manjimup, WA 6258
Australia
terrym@calm.wa.gov.au

 

Participants


Dr Matz Berggren
University of Göteborg
Marine Ecology
Kristineberg Marine Research Station
Pl 2130
SE-450 34 Fiskebäckskil
SWEDEN
m.berggren@kmf.gu.se

Ms Chandani Appadoo
University of Mauritius, Mauritius
Current address:
c/o Department of Zoology and Animal Ecology
University College Cork
Lee Maltings, Prospect Row
Cork, IRELAND
c.appadoo@ucc.ie

Dr Claude De Broyer
Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique
Departement des Invertebres
Rue Vautier, 29
B-1000 Bruxelles
BELGIUM
debroyer@kbinirsnb.be

Dr Lene Buhl-Mortensen
Department of Fisheries and Marine Biology
PO Box 7800
N-5020 Bergen,
NORWAY
Lene.Mortensen@ifm.uib.no

Mr Todd Haney
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
900 Exposition Blvd
Los Angeles
USA
haney@ucla.edu

Prof Brian Kensley
Department of Invertebrate Zoology
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
Washington D.C.
USA
kensley.brian@nmnh.si.edu

 


Dr Kim Larsen
Zoologisk Museum
University of Copenhagen
Universitetsparken 15
DK-2100 Copenhagen
DENMARK
tanaids@hotmail.com

Prof Pat McLaughlin
1760 Parson Creek Road
Sedro Woolley
WA 98284-9620
USA
patsy@sos.net

Mr Kenneth Meland
University of Bergen
Department of Fisheries and Marine Biology
PO Box 7800
N-5020 Bergen
NORWAY
kenneth.meland@ifm.uib.no

Prof Alan Myers
Department of Zoology and Animal Ecology
University College Cork
Lee Maltings, Prospect Road
Cork, IRELAND
alanm@ucc.ie

Prof Boris Sket
Department of Biology
Department of Fisheries and Marine Biology
University of Ljubljana
Vecna pot 111, p.p. 2995
1001 Ljubljana
SLOVENIA
b.sket@Uni-Lj.si

Prof Strömberg
Kristinbergs Marine Research Station
The Royal Swedish Academy of Science
Pl 2130
SE-450 34 Fiskebäckskil
SWEDEN
j.stromberg@kmf.gu.se

Dr Elke Willen
A-G Zoosystematik und Morphologie
Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg
Postfach 2503
D-26111 Oldenburg
GERMANY
elke.willen@mail.uni-oldenburg.de

 

4th Crustacean Delta Workshop
19 to 23 November 2001
NIWA (National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research)
Wellington, New Zealand

The 4th Delta workshop for crustacean taxonomists was hosted by the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, Wellington, New Zealand. Particular thanks go to Niel Bruce for organising the workshop and for making everyone feel so welcome.

This workshop differed from previous crustacean delta workshops because taxonomists studying bryozoans, fish and micro-algae also attended.

As part of the workshop participants developed databases for taxa in their special interest.

  • Niel Bruce developed a database to the south-western Pacific species of the isopod family Aegidae.
  • Graham Fenwick developed a database to the freshwater amphipods of New Zealand.
  • Janet Grieve developed a database on the families of calanoid copepods. This is the first non-malacostracan family level database.
  • Colin McLay developed a database on the world species of coral crabs Dynomeneidae.
  • Rick Webber developed a database to the world genera of the Bresillidae.
  • Among the non-crustacean participants Dennis Gordon developed a database to living and fossil species in the bryozoan family Macroporidae.
  • Geoff Read, developed a database to species of polydorid polychaete worms.
  • Robin McPhee developed a fish database to species of stargazer family Uranoscopidae.
  • Hoe Chang developed a database to harmful species of New Zealand micro-algae important to shellfish industries.

 

Instructors


Jim Lowry
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
jimlowry@crustacea.net


Terry Macfarlane
Western Australian Herbarium
C/0 Dept. of Conservation & Land Management
Brain Street
Manjimup, WA 6258
Australia
terrym@calm.wa.gov.au


Participants


Dr Niel Bruce
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 14-901, Kilbirnie
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: n.bruce@niwa.cri.nz

Dr Hoe Chang
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 14-901, Kilbirnie
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: h.chang@niwa.cri.nz

Dr Dennis Gordon
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 14-901, Kilbirnie
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: d.gordon@niwa.cri.nz

Dr Graham Fenwick
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 8603, Riccarton
Christchurch
NEW ZEALAND
Email: g.fenwick@niwa.cri.nz

Dr Janet Bradford-Grieve
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 14-901, Kilbirnie
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: j.grieve@niwa.cri.nz


Dr Geoff Read
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 14-901, Kilbirnie
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: g.read@niwa.cri.nz

Dr Colin McLay
Department of Zoology
University of Canterbury
PB 4800
Christchurch
NEW ZEALAND
Email: c.mclay@zool.canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Rick Webber
Museum of New Zealand
Te Papa Tongarewa
PO Box 467
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: rickw@tepapa.govt.nz

Dr Robin McPhee
Museum of New Zealand
Te Papa Tongarewa
PO Box 467
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: robinm@tepapa.govt.nz

 

5th Crustacean Delta Workshop
7 to 13 October 2002
Los Angeles County Natural History Museum
Los Angeles, California, USA

The 5th Delta workshop for crustacean taxonomists was hosted by the Los Angeles County Museum of Natural History, Los Angeles California. Particular thanks go to Todd Haney and Sarah Boyce for organising the workshop and for making everyone feel so welcome.

As part of the workshop participants developed databases for taxa in their special interest.

  • Don Cadien developed a database to the species of bodotriid cumaceans of the southern Californian Basin.
  • Jim Roney developed a database to the World species of the caridean shrimp family Ogyridae.
  • Christiana Serejo developed a database to the hyalid amphipod species of Brazil.
  • Regina Wetzler developed a database to the sphaeromatid isopod species of the Dynoides.
  • Eric developed a database on the ampeliscid amphipod species of the southern Californian Basin.
  • Ja Yang Parks developed a database to the species of oedicerotid amphipods of the Korean Peninsula.
  • Niel developed a database to the species of freshwater crabs sundatelphusids from Africa.
  • Liza Haney developed a database on the aorid amphipod species of the eastern Pacific Ocean.
  • Todd Haney finished a database on the cyamid amphipod species of the World.

Instructors


Jim Lowry
Division of Invertebrate Zoology
Australian Museum
6 College Street
Sydney, NSW 2010
Australia
jimlowry@crustacea.net


Terry Macfarlane
Western Australian Herbarium
C/0 Dept. of Conservation & Land Management
Brain Street
Manjimup, WA 6258
Australia
terrym@calm.wa.gov.au


Participants


Donald B. Cadien
Marine Biology Lab
County Sanitations Districts of Los Angeles County
24501 S. Figueroa St.,
Carson, California 90745
USA
Email: dcadien@lacsd.org

Professor Neil Cumberlidge
Biology
Northern Michigan University
Marquette, Michigan 49855
USA
Email: ncumberl@nmu.edu

Professor Elva Escobar Briones
Instituto de Ciencias del Mar y Limnología
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
México City, D.F. 04510
MÉXICO
Email: escobri@mar.icmyl.unam.mx

Lisa K. Haney
Marine Biology Lab
County Sanitations Districts of Los Angeles County
24501 S. Figueroa St.,
Carson, California 90745
USA
Email: lhaney@lacsd.org

Kelly Merrin
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
PO Box 14-901, Kilbirnie
Wellington
NEW ZEALAND
Email: k.merrin@niwa.co.nz

Eric Nestler
City of San Diego, Ocean Monitoring Program
4918 N. Harbor Drive, Suite 101
San Diego, California 92106
USA
Email: enestler@sandiego.gov


Park, Ja-Yang
Marine Environment and Climate Change Laboratory
Koren Ocean Research and Development Institute
Ansan P.O.Box 29
Seoul
REPUBLIC OF KOREA (R.O.K.)
Email: jypark@kordi.re.kr

Ramiro Román-Contreras
Circuito Interior de Cd. Universitaria s/n (P. O. Box 70-305)
Instituto de Ciencias del Mar y Limnología
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
México City, D.F. 04510
MÉXICO
Email: ramiror@mar.icmyl.unam.mx

James Roney
Biological Laboratory
Hyperion Treatment Plant
12000 Vista del Mar
Playa del Rey, California 90293
USA
Email: jdr@san.lacity.org

Dr Christiana Serejo
Museu Nacional, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Quinta da Boa Vista s/n
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro 20940-040
BRAZIL
Email: csserejo@acd.ufrj.br

Dr Regina Wetzler
Marine Biodiversity and Systematics
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
900 Exposition Blvd.
Los Angeles, California, 90007
USA
Email: rwetzer@nhm.org